Skip to content

Distractions

March 2, 2011

I had a revelation in the shower this morning: I only have a finite amount of energy to expend into this world… and I’m possibly not using it appropriately.

I’ve been trying to figure out why I just can’t get to the gym and focus on my weight loss.  It was one thing when I was fighting depression, but I kind of figured that once the depression dissipated- I’d get back in the groove of things. It’s what I want, to lose weight.  But in a moment of honesty in the shower this morning… it dawned on me.

I’m distracted. Yes, things are better at work…but its far from perfect. And I spend most of my energy dwelling on my job: all the negatives and frustrations about my job; whether it was the right decision; and what if anything I can do to improve my situation as it relates to work.

This is what I am always thinking about, its what I am incessantly talking about… its what I expend all my energy and focus on.  And since I only have a finite amount of energy, I have no energy to focus on the betterment of myself.

So now the question is, what do I do about it? A post for another day.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Nay permalink
    March 4, 2011 6:52 am

    When I read your posts I am amazed at how similar our issues are. I’m glad I’m not the only one going through this but would be happier if we ALL could find a remedy. Why won’t I just get on the treadmill (in my house, might I add) and give my health 30 minutes of my day? HELP!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

