Skip to content

Slow Dance

February 15, 2011

Last night, I went to go see Josh Ritter (whom I adore… you should all check him out).  It was a great concert per usual.  It was also Valentine’s Day.  When I agreed to go with my friend, I should have payed more attention to the date of the concert!  There were couples everywhere.  I mean everywhere.

So Josh thought it would be cute if we had one large slow dance during an interlude to one of his songs… he had been slow dancing with himself all night on stage.  I guess he wanted us to get in on the fun. But the doe-eyed couples didn’t get the memo on what we were supposed to do so all of a sudden the entire place erupted into couples slow dancing leaving the few single folks feeling trapped and helpless.

Has this ever happened to you at a wedding.  The band or DJ is playing you song and you are jammin it out, you’ve got moves on the dance floor, you’re feeling pretty on top of the world and then BAM.  Out of nowhere the band or DJ decides to play a slow song and everyone partners up and all the couples come on to the dance floor and all the single people sheepishly scurry off.  You know the scene, I like to call it the single/couple wedding shuffle.

Unlike at a wedding, I had nowhere to run.  So I just stood there with my single friend while everyone around slow danced.  A few feet down stood another clearly single woman who was also trying to put on her brave face… but I knew what was right beneath the surface:  another reason for the ever growing list of why it sucks to be single.

I’m pretty content with life right now and am not dwelling on my singledom… at least that’s been the case for the last several weeks.  I would even go as far as to say, I’m  over looking for a man. If he finds me, great… but my looking days are over (for now).  And then Josh Ritter and hundreds of couples reminded me with a slow dance one of the many reasons it sucks to be single.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

