Skip to content

Monkey See, Monkey Do

September 27, 2010

I’ve been doing really well with honoring my fullness and hunger. I’m still not perfect but there are much fewer incidents of true overeating on my part.

Until last night. It wad my niece’s birthday party. After, the family went out for pizza. I wasn’t really hungry. Hunger was around a 5-6.  But I decided to have a slice because I was nervous that the pizza would be all gone when I did get hungry. So I had a slice.

The rest of my family were eating numerous slices. Four for most, more for some.  I wasn’t hungry for 4 slices. I wasn’t hungry for 1.  But everyone else was gorging on pizza and I wanted in. So I ate and ate and ate.

Sadly, I can’t even tell you how many slices I had. Initially, I felt guilty and was mad at myself. Then I took a breath, and tried to brush off the emotions and learn from what had just happened.

So, what have I learned? That I am not fully ready for tempting situations. I’m still young in my intuitive eating journey and can easily fall prey to my old ways. But not everyone follows intuitive eating and so just because monkey see, doesn’t mean monkey do.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

