Skip to content

Running Shoes

September 19, 2010

Do you see this? I am posting on the weekend. Never thought this day would come, but this phone of mine has revolutionized my life.  🙂 

I mentioned in a previous post about all my foot problems that got totally exacerbated with my triathlon training. (As fancy as my new phone is, linking proves to be more trouble than its worth!)  Well, it was time to get new running shoes and so I went to my local running store.

I told the lady all my problems- flat feet, overpronation, plantar fasciitis, etc. I also told her these running shoes and I never really meshed. Whenever I ran in them, they felt fine… but walking? That was always uncomfortable. It was like the shoe was always pushing my foot out on its outward edges (like an underpronator, which I’m not).  The lady at the store said it was pretty obvious when I walked in that my feet were now underpronating (basically going from one bad gait to another and skipping over the neutral position which is what you’re aiming for).

Turns out my running shoes were the absolute wrong shoe for me and probably caused my current feet problems/injuries. I was floored to learn that these shoes were so bad for me because I got them from the same store I was sitting in!

But here’s the thing… when I bought the shoes a year and a half ago, I didn’t really try them on and run and walk in them like this store makes you do. I (nor the guy working that day) thought I needed to because I was just replacing my old saucony shoes with the newer version.  And my first pair of saucony’s were great and we went through all the steps of fitting the shoe that first time.  And so my second time around, I thought I could shave off some time at the running store, because who really likes to run on display?

And here’s the lesson in this story and the reason for this blog. Every version of a shoe is different from older versions. Yes, the fundamentals of the shoe stay the same, but small changes are always made. And those small changes may have great consequences for you. Like it did for me.

Yesterday, after trying on (and running) in 3 shoes- I found the right match for me. My old running shoes were so bad for my feet, that the lady in the store made me promise to throw them away.

Lesson learned. Shortcuts can bite you in the ass.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. kris permalink
    September 19, 2010 11:56 am

    Wow who knew a shoe could make such a difference. I certainly didn’t. I need a new pair myself but have no idea how to get the right one. What’s the name of the store you went to? Maybe there’s a location here in NYC i can go to. I’m so glad you’ve found your right fit. 🙂
    Oh! what kind of phone did you get?

    • September 21, 2010 9:34 pm

      It’s called Pacers. I believe its local but there are prob tons in nyc. But who knew is right! My physical therapist is much happier with this pair!

Leave a Reply

