Skip to content

Eureka at 6 Months Post BC

September 17, 2010

Six months have passed since my big chop and if you blinked, you would have missed it!  I can’t believe it’s been half a year, but it definitely has!

I’ve learned a lot of lessons in these past 6 months and have watched my hair go through many different stages already.  Prior to my BC and the couple weeks following, I was obsessed with you tube videos watching woman with different types of curls style their hair.  My #1 obsession?  Wash and gos… man, I couldn’t wait till the day that I would be able to do those!

Over the last 6 months, I have bought numerous products that other women swear by to enhance my wash and gos… kinky curly curling custard, eco styler, aveda’s be curly, curls souffle, and darcy’s botanical curling jelly.   None of these products became my holy grail although aveda’s be curly worked pretty well.  But the rest? Not only were they not my holy grail, but they added nothing of value to my hair and I hated the way they felt.  Just this month, without even realizing that I was 6 months into my natural hair journey– I had an epiphany.

My hair (and my curls) look just fine with some daily leave in condition and a little oil from time to time… period.  No need for fancy styling products.   And so I’m done with the trial testing of other women’s holy grail products… I’ve found mine.  No need to look any further, because if it ain’t broke why the hell try and fix it?!

So happy 6 month nappiversary to me and what a relief to finally find my stride.

One Comment leave one →
  1. kris permalink
    September 17, 2010 12:14 pm

    I must confess i also watch alot of the you tube videos and have purchased the eco styler gel and the Donna Marie mira curl curling jelly. Unfortunately my texture doesn’t allow me to just wash, apply gel shake and go. It’s more like wash, apply gel, take 45mins to twirl each strand to encourage curls then go lol!! Anyway i’m so glad you’ve found what works for you. Happy 6 month nappiversary!!! =)

Leave a Reply

