Skip to content

New Styles, Old Anxiety

September 13, 2010

Rocking the headband… ahem, I mean bra strap!

Kris commented on the previous post saying she’s ready for more pictures and I don’t like to disappoint. 🙂  I haven’t taken a lot of new pics primarily because there hasn’t been much to report.  I probably won’t do another length check until October and although my hair is definitely growing… it’s really hard to tell because it’s SO DAMN curly!

But the other day, I decided to try the headband look (aka mini puff) and I loved it.  I’m trying not to abuse the style since it does pull on my edges but I really like the way my hair looks in it.  Several months ago, I learned the bra strap trick but never put it into practice, but I do now and I’m not looking back.  The bra strap is taut enough to really give natural hair a nice pulled back look… now I just need to find other color bra straps.  Wish me luck on my search!

a view from the top... ignore the shiny forehead and the product in my hair that hasn't yet dried!

once my hair had dried

from the back, you can't see the headband/bra strap... so no one actually needs to know you're wearing a bra strap on your head!

Separation Anxiety

There are some things about my hair that I’m still not so in love with.  First, at the crown and front of my hair… the curls and texture just aren’t as defined and smooth/soft as the curls in back.  Oh, how I love my curls in the back. 🙂   Second and probably more important, the hair at the crown of my head goes through serious separation anxiety when styled in a wash and go (which is what I wear 90% of the time).  I think this happens because of the coarseness and texture of the my hair in that area.  What do I mean, you ask?  Take a look.

Do you see how my hair leaves a divide?

As my hair dries, the separation becomes even more prominent.  I’ve known about this divide for awhile now, but as my hair grows… it begins to look worse and worse and made me quite self conscious.  So clearly I needed to do something about it.  And I think I found a solution.

After getting out of the shower and putting my product in my hair, usually i just finger comb it in, shake and call it a day.  BUT, to get rid of my separation anxiety- I realized that part of my hair needed special attention.  At first, I tried to finger comb it more but that didn’t work.  So I busted out my rarely used comb and on sopping wet hair (with product), I combed and manipulated the hair in that section to cover up the divide.

And viola!

So separation anxiety resolved!  I was a little concerned with using a comb (even a wide tooth comb) on my hair and disrupting the curls, but I think it turned out great.  🙂   I’ll be honest, the manipulation took any extra 2 minutes more that I’m no longer used to spending on my hair so it’s not something I do every time… but if I’m trying to make my hair look purrfect, I now have a solution to my great hair divide!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. kris permalink
    September 13, 2010 12:51 pm

    Thank you for the pics 🙂 Your hair looks great. It’s been 4mths since my BC and i’m still lost when it comes to styling but i don’t regret it. I did my 1st puff yesterday it wasn’t perfectly slicked with gel or anything because i wasn’t going anywhere but i was excited i was finally able to do one.
    Keep being true to yourself, and all the best to you.

  2. September 15, 2010 10:40 pm

    Thanks Kris! I have days where I don’t love my hair the way I thought I would… but I don’t regret it either! The BC was the best decision I ever made! Good luck with your journey and thanks for your continued support on mine. 🙂

Leave a Reply

