Skip to content

What to Bring for My Tri

June 14, 2010

Although I still have over a month, it’s time for me to start thinking about triathlon day because it will be here before I know it.

I’m gonna start a running list of things I need for day of and hopefully, I can keep adding to the list and maybe even get a few suggestions from folks who have done a triathlon before.

My goal is just to finish… as of right now, I don’t even have a time goal in mind so I’m not really worried about being “quick” in the transition area.  My only worry?  Getting to the finish line!

So here’s my first stab at a list of things I’ll need.  The fact that my shuffle (for swimming) and MP3 player (for running) is not listed- because they are prohibited- makes me very very sad. 😦

Arrival and Set Up

  • Bike pump (will check bike by the car and leave pump in car)
  • Beach towel (folded in half) to use as my transition area mat
  • Two small towels
  • Band-aids
  • Bag with large water bottle and some snacks

Swim

  • Swimsuit and a sports bra (for running) underneath
  • Ear plugs for swimming
  • Swim cap
  • Goggles
  • Swim/bike watch

Bike

  • Running shoes and socks
  • Bike/running capris
  • Hydration pack
  • Helmet
  • Hair bandanna
  • Small handlebar bag (to hold an energy bar)- still need to buy
  • Side mirror for handlebar- still need to buy
  • Cheapie bike computer (?)- still need to buy if I decide to buy

Run

  • Running shirt
  • New hair bandanna
  • Sunglasses (?)- don’t train with them so not sure
  • Running watch
  • Running hydration pack

Oh boy, this become more real with every day! LOL  But that’s ok, I’m excited to step this far out of my comfort zone.  I continue to have random fears/concerns… my newest one is getting out of the pool.  I always use the ladder to get out of the pool but what if I’m assigned to a middle lane?  And have to pop out of the pool and boost myself up?  I’m not sure I can do that gracefully or in any kind of cute way.  Getting up after being on the ground is always a drag for me but doing it in a crowded pool area is not something I’m looking forward to.  This may be something I have to practice!  😉

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Thisandthatmia permalink
    June 14, 2010 2:09 pm

    Have you purchased your hydration pack yet? I am pretty happy with my small one from Outdoor Products. I used it for skiing and it was great, plus it had a few pockets so you can keep the extra head band and bars and … You’ve got a lot of stuff! It wasn’t very big so you might be able to use it for the last two legs without having to get two bags.

    • June 14, 2010 4:07 pm

      Yep, I’ll be using the hydration packs that I train with. So no new purchases there! 🙂 The problem with keeping snacks in my hydration pack (which I could), is that I wouldn’t be able to reach it while riding so I need a little pouch on my handlebars that is easily accessible. This triathlon thing is crazy.

  2. June 14, 2010 7:38 pm

    I’m so excited for you! I’ll totally be cheering for you from the interwebs.

  3. June 16, 2010 9:18 pm

    go speedracer!!

  4. June 23, 2010 1:28 pm

    thanks ladies!!! Just a month to go. 🙂

Leave a Reply

