Skip to content

Runners Remorse?

June 8, 2010

Let me say from the onset.  I really enjoy running.  I enjoy the natural high of it.  I enjoy running by others and seeing them do a double take because I’m busting their stereotypes (yeah, you just saw a fatty running!).  I enjoy pushing through the pain and going that extra 1/4 mile.  I enjoy the feeling of accomplishment when I complete another day in the couch to 5K program.

I have started the couch to 5K program numerous times and have never been able to complete it.  I’m more than halfway through the running program and I really believe this is my time–I’m going to complete this sucker!  But there’s a nagging thought in the back of my head- what if I’m doing more harm than good to my body with all this running?

Yesterday morning, I finished Week 6, Day 1 and I felt great (as I always do)… but like clockwork, about an hour after- my body started crying out in pain.  The pain is not always the same, but it’s always there.

Sometimes it’s my hamstring feeling very sore and fatigued, sometimes it’s my plantar fasciitis (really bad heel pain) flaring up, sometimes it’s one or both knees that hurt, sometimes it’s my glutes that feel like they went through a wringer.  Sometimes it’s all of the above.

The hours after my run, my body feels like a beaten down, used up damaged shadow of my normal self.  Let me share an example:  yesterday, going to the bathroom presented several challenges because squatting down to the toilet was horror on my knees… several times throughout the day, pain would shoot from my knees just through the mundane task of sitting down or getting up from the toilet.  That cannot be normal.

Thankfully, it only takes my body 24 hours to recover and go back to normal… but what if one day it doesn’t?  What if my body is trying to tell me something?  Maybe I just weigh too much currently for my body to support running. But I can’t give up.  I want to finish this running program, I don’t want to be a quitter (as I’ve been numerous times before).

And this isn’t even about my triathlon because I’ve already decided that I’m going to do a run/walk for the 5K portion of the tri.  I just want to know that I started the couch to 5K program and FINISHED it.  But what if this program finishes me?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2010 12:18 pm

    The pain is your body making itself stronger… but make sure it isn’t too much. As long as you are bouncing back within 24 hours, you are probably OK. But if it takes 48 hours, well, then give it 48.

    Of course, I am not a medical or training professional, so take that for what it’s worth

  2. June 8, 2010 4:05 pm

    Lady, I would ask my doctor if I were you. Walking or nordic walking might be better, it burns almost as many calories…but it’s not part of a triathalon. You could always take it up afterwards.

  3. June 10, 2010 11:15 am

    Thanks for the advice @NCP and @amy!!! I think I’ve always just been a bit scared of running and feeling like my body was not meant to run… but I always bounce back in 24 hours… I think if it took longer, I would definitely stop altogether.

    But I already had an appointment for my annual checkup so I’ll ask my doctor (who is awesome!) about it and see what she says.

Leave a Reply

