Skip to content

Can I Have a ‘Cone with That?

June 1, 2010

A couple weeks ago, I mentioned that I was trying out a new hair regimen and some new hair products… and I’m happy to report they are working fabulously!

Not so long ago, I wrote an entire post on how I was going to follow the curly girl method to a tee.  Two major factors of the curly girl method: no hair products with silicones or other products ending in ‘cone and no shampoo.  And I followed the curly girl regimen for over a month.

And then (as it often happens), a few ladies on the curly nikki forums were praising Aveda’s Be Curly and it made me wonder.  I was a daily user of Be Curly when I was still getting relaxers and for whatever reason, the moment I big chopped- I stopped using it (even though it is when I should have been using it).   But sitting in my room was an 80% bottle of Aveda’s Be Curly and I thought, why not?  You’re getting bored with your hair right now anyway, so why not experiment a little bit.

So experiment I did.  I shampooed my hair (gasp!) with Curls Clarifying Shampoo… and wowzers did my hair feel dry and very very odd to the touch.  It had been long enough since I used shampoo, I forgot what it made your hair feel like.  I followed it up with Giovanni Smooth as Silk Conditioner and my hair’s moisture definitely came back almost immediately (phew, I was quite worried that I had made a really big mistake shampooing my hair).  And then, the ultimate experiment… I styled my hair using Aveda’s Be Curly and my hair looked amazing!

I was on such a roll, I even tried my hand at braiding (technically, flat twisting) the front of my hair and although it took me an hour to do, it turned out great and I was able to keep those flat twists in for 5 days which was great!  I was able to co-wash my hair with the flat twist and they totally held up great.

So for now, I’m giving the Curly Girl method a rest and will shampoo my hair when it needs it and once again use products that my hair loves even if it has the dreaded ‘cones as an ingredient!

The next big experiment?  Twist outs but that’s going to have to wait until I have a whole weekend free. 🙂

For pictures of my new hairstyle, check out the last 6 pictures under may hair photos  here.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2010 10:50 am

    Didn’t realize how much work that braiding is… but it looks faboo!

  2. kris permalink
    June 1, 2010 1:49 pm

    It looks great! I can’t seem to flat twist to save my life but I’ll keep trying. My cornrows take me over an hour also so don’t feel too bad 🙂

  3. June 1, 2010 2:50 pm

    thanks ladies! 🙂

  4. April permalink
    June 3, 2010 2:12 am

    The flat twists are amazing! How long did it take you overall to do?

    • June 4, 2010 11:14 pm

      Thanks @April… it seems so ridiculous to me since my hair is so short and i’m only flat twisting half of it, but it takes me about 50 minutes to an hour. It’s the parting that eats up my time.

Leave a comment