Skip to content

Exhaustion

May 26, 2010

There are certain words, terms and feelings that are often used improperly in American culture, like “friend”.   Another one?  “I’m exhuasted.”  I say this phrase a lot.  And sometimes, I am tired… but exhaustion?  Usually, I’m not.

So far this week, I have been exhausted.   I participated in a 20 mile bike ride event on Sunday which I was neither mentally nor physically prepared for, but I completed it.   It was great to ride on the open roads of my city without worrying about cars and not feeling like I was going to get run down by a speeding cyclist at any moment.  But I didn’t realize how different a 20 mile bike ride would be from the 10 miles I had previously done.  I was so exhausted near the end, I skipped two loops that added up to 3 miles so in reality I guess I only did a 17 mile bike ride.    Four miles (miles 6-10) were a steady climb.  I had never done a hill that had lasted that long (and I’m not sure if I ever want to do one again).  I sucked!!!  Halfway through, I had used up all my energy which made the 2nd half the hill BRUTAL.  It felt like I had to stop every few minutes just to catch my breath and take a break.  I honestly wasn’t sure I would make it.  But I did and damn, I felt accomplished.

That Sunday night, once the high from finishing was long gone, my body began to completely break down.  My back was out of whack.  My legs felt like cement and rubber simultaneously.   My hands hurt and my arms were beyond fatigued.  And my right heel was crying out in pain.  Lying down was painful, sitting was painful and standing was painful.  On Monday, I took it easy- no workouts (even though I had one scheduled) and I got a 2 hour massage and started to feel better by Monday evening.

Tuesday morning, it was back to my triathlon training schedule.  I completed my run and went on with my day.  I had some aches and pains throughout the day but that’s pretty commonplace on my run days so I didn’t think anything of it.

I got home Tuesday evening and did my usual routine.  At 8pm, it was as if a freighter had just ran into my body.   My body had enough and it was now screaming at me for rest.  So I listened and got ready for bed before the sun had even set.  I was in bed by 8:30pm and probably asleep by 8:31pm.  Clearly, I had pushed my body to its limits over the last few days and it was now responding.  Last night, what I was feeling– that was true exhaustion.

When I woke up this morning (and let me share that I was barely able to get out of bed this morning after 9 hours of sleep), I came to realize just how exhausted I was.  I had put the chain lock on my front door but never actually locked my front door.  I had taken out my contacts and put them in the case, but forgot to put contact solution in the case.  And I didn’t even attempt to take off my makeup or do my usual nightly hair routine!

So I’m gonna listen to my body and for the rest of this week, take it easy on my workouts and get 8-9 hours of sleep each night… hopefully my body will forgive me soon and we can once again co-exist amicably.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 26, 2010 4:59 pm

    wow, i think i’d throw myself off a bridge if i biked 20 or 17 miles. How awesome are you for finishing!

    I just read this thing recently about the healing response and how sometimes after something hard like that your body can totally revolt on you in it’s healing process, hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

