Skip to content

This Ain’t No Joke

May 20, 2010

There are 66 days left before my triathlon.  Holy SHIT!  Although I have mini anxiety attacks from time to time, I also know that I’m doing everything I’m supposed to be doing and that’s all I can do (clearly).

But 66 days?!  When did that happen???  A lot of folks have been asking about my training schedule and what it looks like… so I’ve made a pretty nifty calendar for you below.

The training program is a blend of a trinewbies.com training plan and the couch to 5K training plan.

  • The asterisks (***) are for strength training workouts which is usually reformer pilates.
  • C25K is for the couch to 5K program.  I’ve never actually completed the entire program although I have “started” it several times.  The furthest I’ve ever gotten was Week 6 which I’m coming up on shortly… eek.
  • Some of you may be wondering what BRICKS are… it’s a combo of biking, walking and running… so that you can get used to the transition from bike to run.  I haven’t done one yet, but from what I understand- your legs can feel wobbly after a long bike ride.

As the race gets closer, I become more at peace with the fact that I may have to walk portions of the running leg of the race.   I also keep reminding myself that this is not a comparison race… it doesn’t matter how fast all the people around me are going.   I’m racing against no one but myself.  I try to work on this when someone zooms by me in the pool or when someone goes around me at my 13 minute running pace (which is quite slow… but faster than walking) :).  I’m so freaking competitive, this is harder than it should be but I’m getting better.

This morning, I missed my bike workout so I packed a bag for the gym and will go there right after work and get my 8 miles in on a stationary (non-recumbent) bike… which will not be fun but that’s what I get for being lazy this morning.  This schedule will NOT be broken if I can help it.

Click the calendar to enlarge.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2010 6:37 pm

    I found your blog link on a hair site (CN, I believe). I’ve recently made the decision to transition, so of course I’m absorbing everything I can. Funny thing is that I’m in the world of triathlon too (hey, fluffy triathletes are still triathletes). My love has always been cycling, but I’ve done a few sprints and plan to continue in the world of tri. Anyway, just thought I’d speak up because natural, Black and triathlete is a rare combo. LOL

    Good Luck at your tri and continued success on your journey…

    • June 4, 2010 11:12 pm

      Love it @courtney!!! Rare combo indeed. 😉 It’s so good to hear from another triathlete… (the use of another implies that I’m calling myself a triathlete- whoa!)… but I’m a little training fiend and I’m so going to be ready come end of July!

      And I couldn’t have said it better myself… “fluffy triathletes are still triathletes” 🙂

      Good luck on your transition… whether it’s long or short, this period is so cool as you learn so many new things about your hair.

  2. July 12, 2010 1:33 pm

    So, I know that this is an earlier post for you…but I’m just discovering your blog via Curly Nikki’s blog :)… I am so excited to see that you’re training for a triathlon. I’m not…but you’re inspiration for me to continue working on becoming a healthier me.

    • July 14, 2010 9:15 pm

      Never too late Brandi! I’m glad you stopped by. 🙂

Leave a Reply

