Skip to content

Crying “Uncle”

May 19, 2010

I am ready to concede and accept a few things.

  • Since the inception of this blog, I’ve been trying to find my place in the world of fat acceptance.  I have struggled to come to terms with the role of weight loss in my quest for body acceptance.  And one thing I have realized?  I am not anti-weight loss. In fact, for me at my current weight… I am pro-weight loss. No one else has to agree, but I do NOT believe that weight loss and body/fat acceptance are mutually exclusive and I plan to pursue both simultaneously.
  • In December 2008, I was 225 pounds and steaming ahead with my weight loss.  At that point, I had lost more than 40 pounds total.  Then work and life happened, and over the last year and a half… I have gained most of it back.  I have been blaming external factors for months now but time to admit, I dropped the ball… period.
  • I am 40 pounds heavier than I was 18 months ago and even if I begin to lose weight, it will be months before the work clothes in my closet fit me properly or at all.  It is probably time to purchase some new work clothes.

And there you have it.  I’ve been twisting myself into knots trying to deflect these three realizations and I have finally got myself so twisted that it was time for me to cry “uncle” and confess to myself that I want to lose weight, that I’ve regained the weight I recently loss and that’s on me, and that the regained weight isn’t going to magically disappear so it’s time to buy some new clothes that actually fit me.

Simple enough but ridiculously hard for me to accept.

As for the weight loss… no diet plans, no gimmicks;  just good ole fashion portion control (easier said than done) and exercise (which right now consists of some serious triathlon training that I’ll fill ya’ll on later).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

