Skip to content

Cycling: You and Me, We Ain’t Friends

May 13, 2010

Out of the three sports I am training for currently (for my triathlon), I have recently discovered that my least favorite is cycling.   By a landslide.

If you had asked me this a year ago when I bought my bike, I would have never guessed (in my wildest dreams) that I had any fear connected to cycling.   I had a fear of swimming, specifically the deep end of the pool and not being able to breathe in shallow or deep water.   I had a fear of failure when it came to running 5Ks (ie. being able to complete them)… kinda still have this one.

But nope, no fears connected to getting on a bike… until I got on mine and went for my first ride.

Every time I have to get on my bike to train, my stomach ties up in knots.  I try and find excuses to cancel a ride.  I’m relieved if it’s raining on a day I’m supposed to train.

What scares me?  I hate the feeling of not being in control.  So every time I go down a hill and my bike picks up speed, I panic.  Every time another cyclist tries to pass me on what I consider a blind spot or a cyclist coming from the opposite direction is passing someone and is creeping in my lane, I panic. Every time I go around a “tight” bend or curve in the trail going at any speed above running speed, I panic.

Clearly, cycling on the nature trails by my house causes me to… well, panic.   So I thought maybe riding on sidewalks and quiet streets would be better for me.  It isn’t.   The problem is,  panic or no panic- I have to train for the bike portion of the race and so riding my bike is a necessity.   But I don’t have to like it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 16, 2010 7:10 am

    i hope it gets easier!

Leave a Reply

