Skip to content

$23.18

May 12, 2010

Oh yeah, that’s how much money I have in my checking account right now. Less than $25… I know cab rides that cost more than that.   Sigh.  What doesn’t kill us makes us stronger, right?  I guess we’re gonna find out.

Some of you may be wondering what my plan of attack is.  Well, I don’t actually have one.  I will say, that it wasn’t supposed to be this way.  I should have $106.18 in my checking account.  But turns out my car insurance (which is on auto pay) pulled out my payment a couple days ago.  I should probably figure out how much my auto insurance is and when it gets paid.  And yes, you are reading that correctly.  I don’t know how much it is or when it gets paid.  Stop judging.

I could play the coulda woulda shoulda game all day.  But really, I’ve done really well since the 1st of the month (outside of joining a new gym which come to think of it is another $100+ I would have in my account).

But back to the present and my plan of attack or the lack there of.  First things first, I will need to figure out how to get by on less than $25 until May 20th.  I wonder if this constitutes an emergency to get my credit card back from my friend (who is holding it in case of emergencies)????

I don’t have anything that I need to buy (except groceries over the weekend).  But even if I don’t spend a cent except for on groceries over the weekend (well before my next payday on the 20th), that’s going to come to more than $20.

Well, this is certainly a pickle that I feared could occur when I got rid of my credit cards.  I wanted to see what a full month would look like without using a credit card and I guess I’ve found out.

Scary part, I’m not even that upset (not yet at least, let’s talk again on the 17th or 18th).  I’m relieved that I realized this before blindly spending money I don’t have and getting charged overdraft fees because of it (I highly doubt my bank would be so gracious a second time as to forgive my overdrafts).  I’m proud of myself for not devolving into complete panic mode right away.  I feel like I can handle this (albeit I don’t know how yet)… but I feel like I can.  Here’s to hoping… and learning.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Thisandthatmia permalink
    May 12, 2010 12:09 pm

    This is actually a really great opportunity to get creative with the food you have. I love cleaning out the coolers and starting from scratch. I force myself to do this at least once a year. Who knew that pretzels and cabbage work so well together? Check out “Chopped” on the Food Network for inspiration.

  2. dajewel permalink
    May 12, 2010 12:36 pm

    how about getting groceries at a farmer’s market??? i buy my groceries there, and spend not even $10 and the food last me for a bout a week. i know of an excellent farmer’s market in overtown. try them.

    • May 12, 2010 10:44 pm

      a farmer’s market is actually not a bad idea… thanks @dajewel. In a couple weeks my neighborhood will have a farmer’s market on Tuesdays but there are a bunch in my area. I’ll have to check out. 🙂

  3. May 12, 2010 12:49 pm

    I agree with the above, creativity is the name of the game. Also, beans. Bean soup is full of veggies and fiber and you get lots of filling meals out of it.

    You can do this, don’t let your money run your life…you can control it and turn things around and it’ll be the best thing that ever happened to you.

  4. May 12, 2010 12:53 pm

    I agree with the other commenters. I have been in this situation, and it was very empowering when I saw that I could get by without spending. I would try to get groceries with just what you have and only use the credit card if another necessity comes up.

  5. May 12, 2010 10:46 pm

    Thanks ladies for all the comments… @thisandthatmia, @amy and @m- you’re all right, I have TONS of food in my cabinets, fridge and freezer that can make it work for a week. I’ve made a super short list of items (6 to be exact) that I’ll need to get but none are over $3 so I should be ok!

    I’ll give a full report next Thursday on how I fared for 7 days with $23! 🙂

  6. ElleX permalink
    June 5, 2010 6:24 pm

    I know it’s a little late but allrecipes.com has a feature where you can put in the ingredients you have and then search.

    • June 8, 2010 12:05 pm

      Ooh, it’s never too late @ellex for tidbits of information like this one. Thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

