Skip to content

Triathlon Training is Under Way

May 11, 2010

Week 5 of my 8 week Lenten Redux has come and gone.  And it looks like triathlon training really keeps me physically active… who would have thunk it. 🙂

Last week (May 2-May 8) was my best week with my commitment to be physically active each day.   Between my tri training and pilates, every day last week- I was moving my booty.  And it felt good… felt like the old me.  But now, I’m exhausted.  I mean, really exhausted.

I’ve always been someone who loves sleep but the last few days have been unreal.  I never wake up rested even after 8 hours of sleep.  I don’t know if it’s connected to my tri training or something else, but I’ve got to figure it out because this feeling of exhaustion isn’t fun.

But back to my tri training… I’m following a modified version of an 11 week sprint distance program from www.trinewbies.com.  And although I am working the program and have 11 weeks before my sprint triathlon, I’m starting to get nervous.  Very nervous.

There’s a strong likelihood that I won’t be ready to run a 5K by July 25th, let alone run a 5K after the swim and bike portion of the race.   I’m just not good at running (jogging would be a much more accurate description).   And I’m ok if I walk some of the 5K leg especially since it’s the last leg of the race… but what if I’m exhausted and just can’t make it?

I’m just gonna keep training and chugging along and hope for the best!  A lot can happen in 11 weeks, right?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Thisandthatmia permalink
    May 11, 2010 11:22 am

    It’s a good thing the put the swimming portion of the triathlon first.

    • May 12, 2010 10:43 am

      Although I’m very concerned how it’s going to feel running and cycling in a wet bathing suit!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

