Skip to content

Lenten Redux Week 3 and Other Random Thoughts

April 26, 2010

Week 3 Lenten Redux: April 18-24

No church last Sunday… was on a bus back from a weekend in NYC.

But as for physical activity or exercise each day?  Much better than last week.  Four days out of seven… not bad.  Went to pilates twice last week and went for a run twice last week.

Triathlon Training

I started my sprint triathlon training a couple weeks ago and it’s going… slowly.  I’m most nervous about my running and whether I will be able to finish that leg (the last leg) of the race.  Right now, my goal is to get to a place where I can run 5 miles comfortably.  My thought process is that if I can run 5 miles, I’ll be able to run the 3 miles on race day.  We’ll see.

Right now, I’m comfortably running 90 seconds then walking 90 seconds; running 3 minutes then walking 3 minutes; running another 90 seconds and then cool down.   This week, I am going to put more focus on my swimming which has definitely been on the back burner of late.   As for cycling… I’m still being a slacker on this front.  Cycling is the part that I don’t have any mental challenges to overcome so I just haven’t been as worried about it but watch it be the part of the race that kicks my ass.

Intuitive Eating. What is it and How do I find it?

I’m an over eater, this I know.  I’ve made a decision over the weekend to really start to take ownership and responsibility of what I put in my mouth.  I don’t want to diet and I don’t want to count calories but I’m curious to learn more about this concept of intuitive eating.  I think I need it more than I like to acknowledge.  If you  know of any good blogs, websites or books on the issue- send ’em my way!

Money Doesn’t Grow on Trees Update

I’m slowly getting my fiscal house in order.  This weekend, I did a pretty good job of staying within my budget window.  I went out on Friday night and had budgeted $40 for the evening.  I ended up spending $43.  I’ve told myself that I cannot spend more than $50 at the grocery store when I go and on Saturday, I spent $49.12.   And two of my girlfriends and I wanted to get together on Sunday.  At first, we were thinking about a nice brunch which probably would have run me $25 but I offered up going on a walk instead.  We had a great time and were able to catch up and get an hour of physical activity in  to boot!  So this is me patting myself on the back for a weekend chock full of fiscal responsibility!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    April 26, 2010 11:53 am

    Nicely done!

    I’m not sure that I can run 90 seconds which is a really sad comment. It’s a funny thing, I’ve never had a weight issue so everyone jokes when I say I’m going to try to exercise more. I’m really out of shape and it’s not healthy but people automatically assume that slim means in shape. I hate getting winded going up a flight of stairs. I’ve been saying that I am going to exercise now for a full year but nothing, nada, zip.

    Have you tried the Livestrong site? I don’t track my calories and goodness knows that the diet thing is just not for me but I think I make some pretty solid food decisions (I’ve stepped it up since getting married because he makes horrible food choices so I try to balance that out at home). I have a program that allows me to track the food I eat so I know what I am putting in, especially with fats and sugars.

    I also like the US Agriculture site with the food pyramid. They don’t tell you how to eat just what they recommend in each category, how it’s prepared and what you choose is totally up to you. I like it for portion control.

    • April 27, 2010 11:05 am

      @anonymous, feeling winded after a flight of stairs never feels good… physically or emotionally! I’ll have to check out the livestrong site but I don’t want to revert back to counting my calories (although I did lose weight successfully that way). But this time, I don’t want my focus to be weight loss but to build a healthy relationship with food and food journaling may be the first step in that process!

  2. April 26, 2010 4:27 pm

    I write an intuitive eating blog that has a ton of resources. Please check it out and let me know if you have any questions. You can read my full story there but intuitive eating has changed my relationship with food and my body.

    Hope to see you there.

    And bonus, I am having a giveaway today!

    • April 27, 2010 11:03 am

      @christie, I will definitely check out your blog! Thanks. 🙂

  3. April 28, 2010 12:27 am

    I cover intuitive eating on my blog, as well.

Leave a Reply

