Skip to content

Recycling is Good

April 22, 2010

Happy Earth Day (for those greenies among us)!

I am not a very “green” person but I admire and respect those that are… so Happy Earth Day to you!  It being Earth Day and all, you could assume that this post will be about recycling paper, bottles and plastics… but it’s not.

It’s about recycling outfits!

I have no idea how much I weigh right now although the scale is sitting in my bathroom beckoning me to step on, but I continue to resist.  But I have gained back a lot of the weight that I recently lost.  Bummer.

Early last year (months after losing the weight), I finally decided to purge my closet of all the clothes that no longer fit and gave them to Dress for Success and Goodwill.  It was very freeing.  But there were a few items that I couldn’t bear to part with because I loved them so.  So I put them in a box and planned to take them to a tailor to be taken in.  And since I am the ultimate procrastinator, those items just sat in the box for over a year!

A couple months ago, I decided to take a peek into this box and try on some of my “fat” clothes.  Surprise surprise, my fat clothes fit me again.  Some may think this post is about being bummed out that I once again fit into my “fat” clothes. But not so, my friends!

Yesterday, I wore a dress from the “fat” box (originally bought the dress in 2002) and accessorized with some cute boots and a sweater.  I got to work and my co-worker (who is the style goddess) complimented my outfit.  Always a boost to the ego and my trendy factor when the style goddess gives me a compliment.  🙂  And the rest of the day, the compliments kept rolling in.

I hadn’t worn that dress in almost 2 years and it felt almost like a new purchase especially with all the compliments!  Who knew I’d feel so good about recycling an outfit from my “fat” box.  And so folks, recycle recycle recycle.   You never know what the act will bring you!  And you should recycle those papers, plastics and bottles too… make up for the slackers in the world like me. 😉

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Thisandthatmia permalink
    April 22, 2010 11:00 am

    Validation for keeping that sweater vest. It will become popular again!

  2. April 22, 2010 2:42 pm

    haha. possibly @thisandthat, possibly. 🙂

Leave a Reply

