Skip to content

It’s so Hard to Say Goodbye to Yesterday

April 21, 2010

I am 31 years old and the poster girl for fiscal irresponsibility.  I spend money on frivolous things that I never or rarely use or that I straight out do not need.  Here are some of the things that I see everyday and are a constant reminder of my reckless ways:

  • a bike rack for my car (that I still don’t know how to put on and clearly have never used)
  • a shitload of barely used hair products from Aveda, Ouidad, and other fancy schmancy places that now sit and collect dust
  • also a shitload of non fancy schmancy hair products that may not cost as much but are larger in number that are also now collecting dust
  • clothes, clothes and more clothes.  I will one day take a picture of my closets (yes I said closetS) to show you the amount of clothes I have and I probably only where a 1/4 of them.
  • shoes… oh the shoes.  Too many.  And off the top of my head, I can think of 4 pair of shoes (ranging in price from $60-$100) that I NEVER wear but was adamant on not returning.  Don’t ask me why because I couldn’t really tell you.

And this is in addition to the stark reality I encountered after seeing my spending trends for March on mint.com.

But I’m trying to change all that… and that’s the good news.

But there was a hell of a lot of bad news in the last few days when it came to the financial quagmire I found myself in.

Let’s Recap:

No money in checking account (got paid yesterday, praise Jesus).

Charged a $28 overdraft fee eleven times. (actually got this removed; bank took pity on me).

Have a $1500 credit line with my bank for times I need to cover expenses in my checking account but have maxed that out.

Had $70 of credit on one credit card while owing $9,000.

Had $600 on my other credit card while owing $6,000.

Just typing that makes me want to go and drink and eat my troubles away with champagne and truffle fries at my favorite happy hour spot… but since I can’t afford it, I’ll just have to numb the pain with mindless tv instead.  See?  This is me learning a lesson.

One thing I have learned is that plastic is not my friend.  Credit cards are a bad influence on me.  For me, credit cards are like that friend you had in high school or college that some people thought were so awesome and actually raised your cool factor, but in reality they were bad news to the core.  Meet my bad influences, Visa and American Express.

So like anyone should do with a friend who is a bad influence– I’ve decided to remove them from my life, which may also have the consequence of depreciating my cool factor.  I’ve said goodbye to Visa.  Evidence below:

And American Express and I have parted ways.  (I’ve asked a close friend to hold on to that card and give it to me only in real emergencies).

And so there we have it… my first steps on the way to responsible adulthood.  Now when I buy something, I’m actually going to have to have the cold hard cash to pay for it at the time I buy it.  I understand that this is not a novel concept to many of you but this will be a monumental life adjustment for me.

Let’s just hope that I can afford my champagne and truffle fries every once and a while or this is going to be a very sad existence.  Here’s a toast to new beginnings… and more personal baggage for me to work through and share with the world on this here blog o’ mine.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2010 10:19 am

    That is AWESOME!!!

    Also – re all the stuff – try Freecycle to get rid of the hair products (assuming they are still in give-away shape) and Goodwill the rest of it.

    I LOVE going through old stuff and chucking it – and giving it to Goodwill means that perhaps someone else can get good use out of it.

  2. April 21, 2010 4:20 pm

    @NCP, what a great idea… I’m going to check that site out now!!! Thanks… I’m pretty excited about becoming responsible. I’m also scared shitless! 🙂

  3. April 21, 2010 6:44 pm

    i sold a ton of shoes and bags on ebay last year, it was very cathartic and i don’t miss them.

  4. Thisandthatmia permalink
    April 22, 2010 11:04 am

    I got rid of a bunch of stuff on ebay a few years ago and it was brilliant! Who knew someone would pay 14.95 + shipping for a bobble head cat? I loved letting go and the extra cash went into buying more bobble heads which can now be purchased for a low, low price on ebay. I have a lot of junk!

  5. April 22, 2010 2:41 pm

    I think I’m definitely going to give eBay a try for the shoes. I may be the only person left in the world who has never used or really spent much time on ebay! 😉

Leave a Reply

