Skip to content

Happy Nappiversary!

April 13, 2010

It’s been one month since my big chop and here are a few things I’ve learned in the last 30 days.

1. Just because your hair is short doesn’t mean that you can’t have bad hair days.

2. Trial and error is the name of the game when you first big chop (I knew this)… but trial and error can find you in embarrassing spots now and again. Case in point: my co-worker who is prone to judgment came over to my desk today to ask me something.  He then said (in a quizzical tone), “did you frost your hair or something?” I respond, “no”… He then informs me it looks like you did or that you grayed overnight.  It dawns on me that my KCCC gel must have left white clumps throughout my hair.  I had a busy morning so I forgot to check once at work… I then respond to him: “no, I think that’s my gel… it didn’t dry right and I had a rough morning.”  He proceeds to laugh and say, “you’re a hot mess.”  Mind you, there are no walls in my office so this conversation of 2 has now been heard by 10.  Oh the joys of my natural hair journey.

3. I knew that I could have many curl types on my head (that’s common)… what I didn’t do is connect the dots and realize that I could varying ranges of “shrinkage” with my hair. New fear: If my curls on the top half of my head shrinks way more than my curls on the back of my head… what the hell is my hair going to look like as it grows?  A curly mullet is what I have envisioned.

4. I spend a ridiculous time in front of the mirror and taking pictures of my hair.  I kind of thought my hair obsession would subside once I big chopped… clearly not. I have already taken over 200 pictures of my hair for April (and yes, I plan to post some April photos soon!!!).

5. To truly wet my hair (specifically in the front and the sides), standing under the shower head for several seconds just doesn’t cut it. Fully saturating the front and sides is a skill that I’m still working on but right now my hair is winning and water is losing.

6. My hair DOES grow fast! I always thought (during my relaxed days) that my hair grew slow or didn’t grow at all but it’s only been a month and there is significant growth… I guess it’s time for me to start doing length checks. 🙂

7. Pre big chop, I was pretty certain my hair would grow down (I think I was basing this on the curls in the back), but now I’m not so sure… my hair type may be one that grows out and never “falls”… I’m trying to get used to this possible outcome.  Going back to #3, what if the curls in the back do fall, but the curls in the front don’t?  Again I’m envisioning a curly mullet… eek!

8. I am absolutely convinced that I made the right decision and love my hair even with my new found fears and the trial and errors!

Happy Nappiversary to Me!!!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2010 12:53 pm

    Yay for you!

Leave a Reply

