Skip to content

Eco Styler or Kinky Curly Curling Custard?

April 7, 2010

I was convinced that KCCC would be my go to gel for a wash and go. I mean, hell, I went out and bought KCCC a month into my transition- I was that excited.

And I do love it… I think.  But some of my hair idols were giving Eco Styler praise and I just had to know… plus, Eco Styler was only $3 at Sally’s. (I paid nearly $30 for KCCC at Whole Foods).

Before my big chop, I’ve never used gels in my hair so I’m not really familiar with the different consistencies.  For me, KCCC is what I will most likely compare all curling gels to since it was my first one.  So when using Eco Styler for the first time, I was really turned off by its consistency and how it felt once applied to my hair.   It was so thick and sticky feeling.  KCCC is definitely gooey but it is easy to manipulate in your hands and I didn’t feel that way about the Eco Styler at all.

After I got over the feel of it and applied it to my hair, the thick and sticky Eco Styler didn’t go on to my hair as easily as KCCC… but I kept with it.  I had to do a little more manipulation with the Eco Styler to work it all in (I used about the same of this product as I do of the KCCC).

When I was all done, I have to say I was happy with the results.   I have a TWA so not much hair going on but I really couldn’t see a difference between the Eco Styler and the KCCC… which makes me wonder why I spent $30 on the KCCC!  I will say that the KCCC gave me the “wet look” (which I like) for longer, but they both define my curls on a TWA.  But I can totally imagine a scenario when I have longer hair that there will be a difference between these two products.

Also, I have to just say… I love that the Eco Styler is compatible with other hair products because that is probably my biggest problem with KCCC- being limited in what else I can put in my hair if I’m using KCCC or screwing up and mixing the KCCC with another product that it hates and having to get back into the shower to start all over again.  Sometimes, the KCCC makes having a TWA not feel like a low-maintenance hair style, but trial and error I guess.

But for now, I’m going to use both products interchangeably until they run out (which will be weeks, if not months)… so no need for me to choose one over the other just yet.  But stay tuned, because I probably will at some point.  And new to my product wish list (which is getting longer by the minute)- donna marie’s miracurl.  But it seems this is the product du jour for a lot of curlies because she’s been sold out of it for 2 weeks now!

And an April photo album is on the way… it may not seem like a lot to some, but my hair is really growing and I’m definitely excited to photo share it with all of you!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 5:11 pm

    I find I have to switch between hair products a lot. they’re all great for a few days at a time but if I don’t switch them up my hair gets weird so I have an arsenal of products I rotate and weirdly enough straightening products work great on my curls…I guess because they’re so heavy? I dunno but I really like the way it works.

    • April 9, 2010 10:39 am

      Yes!!! It’s like my hair becomes bored with products if I don’t switch it up… or maybe that’s just me. 😉

      I’m gonna have to try the straightening products trick once i have more hair. 🙂

Leave a Reply

