Skip to content

Hodgepodge Monday

April 5, 2010

Funniest Line on Match.com So Far

Some of the profiles on Match are freaking hilarious but this has been the funniest line I’ve seen so far:

I’m no Bobby Brown (thank goodness), but another important characteristic is that I do want a woman whose ability to commit to a relationship would rival Whitney Houston’s.

Weekend Activities

This weekend, I went out on Friday night.  There was 5 of us total and some of us were just meeting for the first time but you wouldn’t have known it by our conversations.  There was a lot of imbibing and flirting and it was great.  I felt very “social” which isn’t usually the case for me lately.  The two guys in the group (who are close friends) started calling each other fatty.  Neither of them are fat, but they both confess to gaining a “few extra pounds” since their 20s.   The fatty chiding went on for several minutes.  And although they were only making fun of each other with their fat commentary, I became increasingly uncomfortable.  Neither guy seemed to make a connection between their fat talk and me nor did it seem that anyone else in the group (2 of my girlfriends) made that connection.

So this got me thinking… Were all 4 of them completely insensitive and didn’t care that a fat person (me) was sitting there while two of them went on with the fatty chiding of each other?  OR  Did none of them make the connection between their fat talk and me because they didn’t see me as fat?

Although the latter is hard for me to comprehend (because I totally see myself as a fat chick), I think that these 4 folks didn’t see me that way.  So does this mean that people don’t see me as being as fat as I think I am?

If I was a Guy, I’d Date You

Match.com never fails to provide me with stories that my friends find quite entertaining.  This weekend was no exception.  Let’s set the stage for those of you who aren’t as familiar with the match.com process.  On Match, you can do searches of anyone on the site (unlike eHarmony where you cannot)… once you find someone you’re interested in, you can wink at them or send them an email.  Whichever you do, match.com will notify that person by sending them a message to their personal email address.

So I receive a match.com message (an email from someone on match) to my gmail account Saturday morning and I begin to check it on my bb. Here’s a portion of the message I received.

Hi I was checking out the “competition” on Match and you seem fabulous. Mostly I appreciate your flip cup/beer pong analysis; it is spot on. Plus I’m much better at flip cup.

I know life in DC is crazy busy, but I would very much like to have someone to commiserate with about the Match process; are you interested? I’d be content with a pen pal but would love to do happy hour or brunch or whatever too.

If you haven’t figured it out yet, this message is from a girl who was checking out her “competition” on match (and I will admit to you, I’ve done this before) and saw my profile and thought I was so awesome, she took the time to email me.   My cousin thinks she has an ulterior motive (ie. she’s actually into girls and is trying to ‘convert’ me); but I don’t agree.  I checked out her profile and I actually think we’d hit it off as friends… she seems really funny.

I don’t know how many times I’ve had girlfriends say to me: “If I was a guy, I’d date you.”  And this seems to be my fate in both the real world and the virtual one.   Girls just think I’m the bees knees and so awesome, but I can’t seem to get the same reaction out of a straight guy to save my life.  Sigh.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Thisandthatmia permalink
    April 5, 2010 1:49 pm

    Do you really want a guy who thinks you’re the bees knees? I keep thinking of the little green Geiko gecko.

    So, response to your weekend activities comment. I work with a few ladies who are clearly overweight and I’m assuming would be categorized medically as being morbidly obese. A few years ago I went to go see “Shallow Hal” and when asked about my weekend I told one of these ladies about it. “How was it?” I replied, “it was really funny if you’re ok with fat jokes.” Then she pointed out that she was fat. I had never even thought about it. All I ever saw when I looked at her was this really bubbly personality with a wicked sense of humor. I felt like a total boob!! But honestly, I just never even noticed the weight thing.

    On the other hand there was someone else in the office who was fixated on her weight in a Debbie Downer sort of way. She would walk into a room and I could hear a sound track for her… Waah, waah, waah. I had a hard time getting to know anything else about her besides that she was fat, alone and no one liked her (her words not mine).

    • April 6, 2010 2:31 pm

      Totally not interested in a gecko @thisandthat! 😉

      And you’re probably right that people don’t see me the way I see myself… it’s just weird to fully comprehend that.

  2. akp permalink
    April 5, 2010 10:03 pm

    1. i don’t think people put things together. like when you complain about your girlfriends talking about how they are fat when they’re not. they’re not trying to be mean. people are naturally self-centered. i don’t think anyone notices as many negative things about anyone else as they notice about themselves.

    2. she is TOTALLY hitting on you. without a doubt.

    • April 6, 2010 2:32 pm

      @akp, I’m starting to get convinced about the girl hitting on me. haha. I really didn’t think she was but you are so not alone in thinking this.

      and you and @amy are so right about my friends from Friday night.

  3. April 6, 2010 9:34 am

    the practical rule is that most of the time most people are only ever thinking of themselves and worrying about what you are thinking of them and not the other way around. it’s important to remember that everyone has chinks in their armor.

Leave a Reply

