Skip to content

Wait, Lent is Over?

April 2, 2010

Yesterday I was reading a high-larious post by dufmanno and it got me thinking about my own Catholicism which has been spotty at best lately.  Sometimes I’m a “good” practicing Catholic and will be at Mass every Sunday and other times, I just can’t be bothered.  I could fluff that up and give excuses but that’s all they would be- the truth is that sometimes going to Mass is just not a priority for me.

But no matter what phase I happen to be in, I have been pretty consistent over the years when it comes to the Lenten season.  I fast and get to services for Ash Wednesday and Good Friday.  During Lent, I pretty much get to Mass every Sunday.  I abstain from meat every Friday and I make a commitment to “better” myself everyday with something (instead of “giving something up”).  One year, I added 10 minutes of meditation to my day.  Another year, I performed a random act of kindness each day.  You get the point.

This year?  I did nothing.   I was in glorious Italy for Ash Wednesday and the first week of Lent and right or wrong, there was no way I was going to abstain from any of that glorious food, gelato or wine while I was there!   So I got off on the wrong foot so to speak and never recovered.  Always kind of thought I would though.  And while reading dufmanno’s post yesterday, I realized Lent was over and I totally missed it.

More importantly, I missed out on the opportunity to try and “better” myself in the past 8 weeks… so I’m going to have my own Lenten season for the next 8 weeks (no abstaining/fasting though).  For the next 8 weeks, I’m going to make a commitment to get to Mass every Sunday and to do some form of physical activity/exercise every day.   I’ll report back at the end of each week on Roxy’s Lenten Recap.  Yeah, yeah, yeah… I know it’s not really a “Lenten” recap, better late than never, right?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Thisandthatmia permalink
    April 2, 2010 11:53 am

    I love that you went off the Lenten Catholic wagon practically on the steps of the Vatican.

  2. April 2, 2010 1:58 pm

    @thisandthat, I too saw the irony. 🙂

  3. dufmanno permalink
    April 2, 2010 4:06 pm

    You and the pope were breathing the same air, therefore due to proximity to greatness and infallability you are hereby exempt from the Lenten fun and games.
    Yay Pontiff!

Leave a Reply

