Skip to content

Money Doesn’t Grow on Trees

March 29, 2010

At least that’s what I was told growing up.  I (and I assume all of you) were told this so that we could learn the value of a dollar.  I’m 31 years old, and it looks like I still haven’t learned that lesson.

Time to fess up to a few things that causes me to hang my head in shame.

$250- that’s how much I spend a month on reformer pilates classes.  I have an unlimited package and the more I go in any given month, the more my $250/month is a “good deal”.  There are 2 days left in March and I have gone 4 times.  That means each class costs me $62.50.  If I were to have bought the classes individually, it would have cost $45 each class.

$69.95 (let’s call it $70)- that how much I spend each month on my gym membership.  Now, my apartment building has a gym albeit crappy, but it does exist.    I joined my gym primarily for 3 reasons: indoor swimming pool, indoor tennis courts and elliptical machines that work (they don’t work so well in my apartment gym).  I joined in the Fall and thought this monthly fee was worth every penny if I got to keep up with my tennis during winter and could quickly get to the pool in the morning before work.  Weeks after joining, I came to realize that the indoor tennis courts cost extra to reserve and you couldn’t reserve them in the mornings which is when I like to work out.  But I kept the membership because of the indoor pool.  Since September 1, 2009- I have been to the gym a total of 16 times.  In the month of March?  I have been once.  So after $500 and 7 months, I have used the gym a total of 16 times.

There are still two days left in March, so here’s to hoping.  Just to be clear, these attendance numbers are exact.  Both my pilates studio and gym document my attendance and is easily retrievable in my on-line account on their respective websites.  This is probably a nifty tool when you have something to be proud of.  Not so nifty a tool right now.

I spend $320 on fitness each month… with that kind of money I should be in the best shape of my life.  I am not.  Far from it.  I am wasting my money.  And after writing this out, I am beginning to feel physically ill.

There are many in my life who would say, I shouldn’t be paying this much for either pilates or a gym membership, no matter how often I use it.  Clearly, I disagree.  I joined the gym and signed up for the unlimited pilates package because I thought it was worth the money.  Well, worth the money if I used the service.

So I have a choice to make.   Do I continue to pay for these things and begin to actually use them?  Or do I face reality and cancel my gym membership and try to cancel my pilates package?

The latter seems to me to be an implicit acknowledgment of defeat, but paying this kind of money for something I don’t use is like those women who buy clothes in smaller sizes because they plan to lose the weight (ladies who do this, I am not judging… just making a point).   But money does not go on trees, and now that my first month with Mint.com is coming to a close- I’m starting to realize that I treat money as if it did actually go on trees and something has got to give.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2010 10:03 am

    ahh, the more money we have the more we spend it. My sister makes at least twice what I did when I was working and never has any money, I make nothing right now and I’m less stressed about money than she is. It’s work to stop spending but it’s not undoable and it’s a really great exercise in what is important.

    • March 30, 2010 7:33 pm

      @amy, you couldn’t be more right. It’s like we always want more… even when we have an abundance.

Leave a Reply

