Skip to content

Shampoo Who?

March 28, 2010

For the last month, I’ve been following Lorraine Massey’s Curly Girl Method (CG Method).  The CG method isn’t specific to white women (which Lorraine Massey is) nor is it specific to black women (which I am)… so long as the locks on your head curl, Lorraine’s CG method can be for you!

One key factor in Lorraine’s method is no longer using shampoos.  This was the hardest thing to get used to.  For years, I’ve been told shampoo is what is needed to “clean” your hair- it’s hard to throw that principle out the window.  But for the last month, that’s what I’ve tried to do.  I read blogs, watched you tubers I trust (when it comes to hair), and listened to what curlies had to say on certain hair forums about this no shampoo concept.   I toyed with the idea of a low-poo (mild shampoo) or with just using shampoo once a month with a deep conditioner after… but 2010 has been the year (so far) of breaking flawed associations I make with my hair and so I decided to follow the CG method 100 percent.  Shampoo who?  Who needs shampoo?  Warning: No shampoo is for curly girls only… straight hair/wavy hair ladies, do not try this at home.  Your hair  will look like a hot oily mess and I say that with love. 🙂

But this weekend my resolve almost broke.  There was no evidence of product buildup or anything to alarm me hair wise… but I just had this urge to go out and buy a mild shampoo and give my hair a wash.  And I’ll admit, I’ve been lazy and hadn’t clarified my hair in awhile.  Some of you may be wondering what “to clarify” means.  Lorraine is 90% right, you don’t really need to shampoo… most times conditioners can do the trick.  But every so often, clarifying your fully is helpful.  For me, I use a mix of apple cider vinegar, water, a little aloe vera juice and a few drops of lavender EO to help with the vinegar smell.  I don’t have a schedule as to when I clarify… just whenever I need or feel like it (every couple weeks?).

So as I got ready to go out and break the CG code and buy some shampoo, I was having a hard time styling my hair (had to start over 3 times)…I was attempting a wash and go and after I applied the Kinky Curly Curling Custard, I got the dreaded white gunk that happens to some ladies.  My best guess why this was happening?  Product buildup- aha! Exactly the reason it was time for me to lift the ban on shampoos.

But I still had a problem, I could not leave the house with my hair looking a hot mess and since I thought the problem was product buildup (Kinky Curly doesn’t play nice with most products but is magical on my hair)- I decided I needed to do an apple cider vinegar (ACV) rinse to remove the product buildup.  So into the shower I go for the 2nd time.  ACV rinse, conditioner and start all over again with styling.  Same freaking results of white gunk… UGH.  Now I’m CONVINCED that I need to buy shampoo because the ACV rinse “didn’t work”.   Back into the shower for the 3rd time Thank God I’m not a conservationist, because I would have been even MORE pissed about showering 3 times within 10 minutes.  This time I just conditioned and rinse.  I jump out and something hits me.

I wasn’t following my usual KCCC application.  I had switched out the Curls Souffle with Curls Milkshake as my moisturizer.  I didn’t think it was a big deal since it was the same company and the products were pretty similar.  Turns out Kinky Curly is really particular about the products it will work with… even within the same company!

So after a crack in my resolve, three showers, and what I thought at the time was solid evidence why I should buy shampoo… I kept to the CG method and didn’t buy shampoo.  Will I shampoo again?  Probably… but for now, I want to see this CG method through till… I don’t want to.  No time table.  But out of all the steps, the shampoo one is the only one I will probably break… though God help me, I hate ending my shower (washing out the conditioner) with cool to cold water.  But this is the price one must pay for beauty.

Till next time…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

