Skip to content

All the Single Ladies…

March 26, 2010

I’m neither a homebody or a party goer.  But I will take on the trait of whoever I am around and I don’t find myself around many single girlfriends who like to go out. So I find myself not hitting the social scene often in my city… even though I know I should… or I think I should. And the social scene doesn’t mean a crazy night out on the town, but going to parties I’m invited to and happy hours and the like.  I need to put myself out there more or so I keep telling myself.

And so I’m left with a conundrum of sorts.  I have a party Saturday night and I want to go but it is the kind of environment I find daunting to walk into alone… primarily because none of the party goers will be folks I can attach to for the duration of the party.  And I hate that awkward feeling when you’re at a party and you’re standing alone or trying to inject yourself into a conversation sometimes with no luck.

I always fear when I shirk out of going to a social event that a potential date/boyfriend could have been there and I just missed out.  That’s what always forces me to go when I’m not “feeling” it.  Do I make myself go to this party… even if it is out of fear?  Or do I just wait for the next opportunity where I can go and have the comfort of one of my single girlfriends serving as my wing(wo)man and I hers?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    March 26, 2010 11:57 pm

    You should definitely go. You never know where the “one” will be!

Leave a Reply

