Skip to content

Let Me Reintroduce Myself

March 24, 2010

Thanks for sticking with me over the past couple days as I got my new blog up and running!  And here it is- the big unveiling.  Yeah, somewhat anti-climactic since a lot still looks the same… but hey, I’m ahead of schedule so I should get points for that, right?!

Here’s the reason I needed to re-brand my blog.  Although I’m not claustrophobic in the real world, I realized that I was in the blogosphere… I felt confined and restricted with the old blog.   My life is not so simple to be defined by just one issue and I was silly to think that blogging about just one issue (at least the majority of the time), would hold my attention.  And it’s slightly embarrassing to have made that mistake so publicly (with my 10 readers as my witnesses 😉 ) but I had to own my mistake- a fat blog was not for me.  And I needed to start over.

Where do I see this blog going?  Well, I don’t know, but I know this: some days I’ll be obsessed with my weight and other days I’ll be obsessed with my hair (although right now, that seems like every day) and other days, I’m just going to rant about my boring ass life.  So I wanted a forum that could embrace all parts of me and not just the fat part of me.

So instead of trying to find a box to fit in, I’m just going to write… about whatever I’m feeling, about whatever is on my mind.

Like everyone, I’m a complicated chick and there are many sides to my one story.  But the one constant throughout all of my many sides is that I’m trying to figure out who I am and live it… figure out what makes me happy and go after it… and figure out how to be happy even if I can’t get what I think I need to make me happy.  Yeah, that was a word twister, mind bender of a sentence but it’s where I am and what I’m searching for- “to figure my shit out”.

I vividly remember my 20s and my hopes and dreams.  Being 24 years old and a recent law school graduate who was trying to figure out her life.  I made goals for myself back then dealing with my career, marriage, weight loss, and a host of other things that I pinned my happiness on.  I’m 31 now and I’ve “failed” at so many parts of my supposed life plan.  And now I find myself trying to make sense out of what I had envisioned my 30s to be like and what it actually is.  (there are very few similarities between the two if you were wondering).

Every day I discover or re-discover something about myself and thirty something and searching will be my safe haven to work through it and share it with the world.  So I hope you come on this journey with me while I try to “figure my shit out” in my 30s so I don’t wake up at 40 and realize that I let my 30s pass me by without finding what makes me happy and going after it but being ok if I don’t get it all.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2010 1:45 pm

    Love the new blog and so happy to be following along on your journey!

    • March 24, 2010 5:40 pm

      thanks K!!! More importantly- thanks for sticking with me on the journey. 🙂

  2. kris permalink
    March 24, 2010 3:05 pm

    I think it’s great you’re doing what feels right for you. I just turned 30 2wks ago and i feel the same way, maybe by following along on your journey i might be able to get my own sh*t together. I wish you all the best 🙂

    • March 24, 2010 5:44 pm

      @kris, isn’t a weird feeling? 30 has been marketed as such a milestone in our country that once it happens, it makes you really stop and question… so what milestones haven’t I reached? I hope you do follow… we 30 somethings have to stick together!!! 😉

      • kris permalink
        March 24, 2010 6:05 pm

        you’re so right! i’ve been thinking about all the things i haven’t accomplished so far… i also have weight issues, it’s plagued me all my life, now i have like 100lbs to lose 😦 . I’ve also decided to go natural, i’m 5mths into my transition and it all just seems like too much. Hopefully clarity will come soon.

  3. chickbug permalink
    March 24, 2010 7:19 pm

    love the blog. love the topic. love you.

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

