Skip to content

Kinky Curly Curling Custard and Moisturized Hair

March 23, 2010

It’s been over a week now since I did my Big Chop and I am still LOVING my hair.  But it has been a trial and error process over the last few days, but I think I have finally got a handle on styling my wash and gos.  From the outset, I knew I wanted to use Kinky Curly Curling Custard (KCCC)- because of the rave reviews on You Tube and the hair forums and while I was still transitioning (and had no use for it) my inner product junkie went out and spent $30 on it!

What I didn’t expect was the intense DRYNESS of my hair.  Whoa.  And KCCC and it’s leave in conditioner (Knot Today) just couldn’t do the moisturizing job I needed.  But I was determined to make KCCC work because it enhanced my curls in a way that made me still feel very feminine and girly.

So I started experimenting with various moisturizers to see if any would work well with KCCC and give my hair the moisture I desperately needed.  And I have found the trick that at least works for me.

Every morning:

  1. Conditioner Wash (co-wash) with Aussie Moist/TJ Tea Tree/Herbal Essences Hello Hydration (I put on a conditioner cap while I actually shower for a mini deep condition).
  2. Get out of shower with hair dripping wet.
  3. Spray my water bottle mix (water, conditioner, aloe juice, lavender EO) on my hair just to make sure my hair is dripping wet since it seems to repel water in some parts.
  4. Use small circular motions on my hair to work in my water bottle mix while stimulating my curls.
  5. Take a quarter size of Curls Souffle into palm and spray 4 squirts of Qhemet Biologics Castor and Moringa oil and mix both products together in my hand.
  6. I again use small circular motions on my hair to work in the Souffle and Qhemet products into my hair all the while stimulating my curls with the circular motions.
  7. I then take a quarter size of KCCC and repeat the circular motions to work the KCCC into my hair.
  8. By this point, my the products in my hair are seriously FOAMING which freaked me out the first couple times.
  9. But I’ve learned to stop staring at myself in the mirror waiting for the foam to disappear/evaporate and to instead go about my morning business allowing the products to start working on my hair.
  10. After I’ve eaten, put my make up on, figured out what in my closet actually fits so I can go to work clothed and presentable- I go back to the bathroom and use a t-shirt to blot out some of the excess product that hasn’t evaporated yet.  I pat lightly as to not disturb the curls or to “smoosh” my hair too much…  my shrinkage will do that on it’s own.

None of the other methods to apply products to my hair worked: Raking, shingling, smoothing, just rubbing in the products… my hair and more importantly, my curls just didn’t respond well.   And it took awhile to find the right products that would react well with the KCCC (because a lot of products don’t).  So there you have it.

But that’s not it… I’ve got an evening routine too. 🙂  I’m paranoid about dryness and so in the evening, I do one of two things.

Option 1

Apply more of the Curls Souffle to my hair and follow it up with either Qhemet’s Castor and Moringa Oil or Jojoba oil.  I don’t bother with any special application process since I’m just going to bed… I just rub both into my hair separately.

Option 2

Apply my Shea Butter/Aloe Vera mix to my hair (consists of raw shea butter, aloe vera, Curls Milkshake, tea tree EO or lavender EO) and follow it up with either Qhemet’s Castor and Moringa Oil or Jojoba oil.  Again, no special application.

And that’s all folks… for now.  As my hair grows, I’ll have to learn new tricks of the trade.  I tried several different things before I found something that worked for me so if this helps one newly natural save a little bit of money on the trial and error… I’m glad I wrote this all out.  And chances are it will only help a few since everyone’s hair is unique and responds to products and techniques COMPLETELY differently.

If you wear wash and gos, how do you keep your hair moisturized?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. TMS permalink
    March 24, 2010 1:11 pm

    Thanks for the step by step process. As a newbie, this is exactly what I need until I figure out what works best for my hair. I must say that it definitely works well for you, and you femininity is NOT questioned :o).

  2. March 24, 2010 3:01 pm

    You’re very welcome! During those first few days, I came to one conclusion- whatever I used in lieu of the Knot Today had to be all natural with similar ingredients and not too heavyl. So don’t feel like you have to go out and buy Curls or Qhemet products (although I love them)… but use whatever products you have that fit that bill. Good luck!!!

Leave a Reply

