Skip to content

Up in the Air

March 4, 2010

I signed up with a friend for a 5K Run on April 11th.  This will be my 3rd attempt at a 5K.  First 5K Run was last May and it was more of a walk than a run! That 5K was an enlightening and humbling experience.  In my eyes, I was an utter failure.  I think I may have run for 10 minutes out of 50 (and the fact that it took 50 minutes to finish a 5K isn’t all that hot either).

But I learned from my “failure” and signed up for another 5K in the fall of 2009, which went much better but still walked more than I had planned to.  So when my friend wanted to sign up for the Cherry Blossoms 5K Run, I thought why not?  I need to start running again anyway to prep for my summer triathlon.

But due to my Italy trip, getting sick and my sheer tendency of procrastination, I didn’t start training for the Cherry Blossoms 5K until this morning.  Eek.  But better late than never, right?  I couldn’t bear to run outside this morning (still too cold for me), nor could I motivate myself to walk to my gym (for which I pay $70/month and I’m really not sure why)… so I walked downstairs to my apartment’s dingy gym that just recently got fancy new treadmills.

In a little under 40 minutes, I ran/walked 2 miles only running a 1/4 mile at a time (at most).  It was hard… but it left me with the same feeling I remembered… a feeling of accomplishment.  Yeah, a few months ago- my workout today would have been child’s play for me… but whatever.  Just gives me something to work towards.

But now the real question looms… will I be ready for my April 5K run?  I still don’t know the answer to that and I’m not really that optimistic, but I can guarantee you this:  I will show up on April 11th and I will start the race running… the rest is up in the air.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2010 11:57 am

    eek! i’d love to know how you do it. I’m doing a 5k on April 3, and I am NOT ready. right now i can do about 2 mi in about 30 min… good luck

    • March 24, 2010 1:08 pm

      Hey M, hope the training is going well… your 5K is really soon! Right now I’m hoping to walk a half mile, run a mile, walk half mile, and run a mile. We’ll see!

      Good luck on your 5K!

Leave a Reply

