Skip to content

Tri Try Tri

January 29, 2010

So one of my goals for 2010 is to complete a sprint triathlon.   As of 5 minutes ago, this was an ambiguous goal of sorts as I had not found a triathlon to participate in.  But I wanted a nifty triathlon logo for this post so I did an google image search and guess what I found?  A triathlon in my area on July 25, 2010 that met all my requirements- swimming occurs in a pool and the bike and 5K courses are relatively easy.  So, I pulled out my credit card and registered for my first triathlon without allowing myself to talk my way out of it.

I love a challenge.  I thrive on challenges.  But I am gloriously lazy and bound to procrastinate, so setting a deadline for myself is a must.  And July 25th seems as good a deadline as any.

The swim portion is 300 meters- 12 lengths of a 25 meter pool that is only 4 feet deep (which is good for me because I am terrified of the deep end).  The bike course has no major climbs and is 11 miles long.  And the 5K is entirely in a park using the park paths and a park road.

I’ve done two 5Ks but have never been able to completely run the entire course although the 2nd time, I did better than the 1st time.  And as for swimming, I just recently learned how to swim and it still causes me some mental challenges (ie. being terrified of the deep end).

For me, finishing a triathlon is about facing fears and doing what seems to be the impossible.  So here goes nothing… the next few months just became much more interesting!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2010 7:16 am

    that’s amazing, I’ll be cheering for you!

  2. January 29, 2010 1:41 pm

    i’m so proud of you!! one of my life goals is to do a triathlon, but i’m too scared 🙂

  3. chickbug permalink
    January 29, 2010 6:19 pm

    knowing your swimming history, this is huge! woohoo! I’m excited for you.

Trackbacks

  1. Fat and Fit… Yes We Can « Fierce, Freethinking Fatties

Leave a Reply

