Skip to content

I Got it at Lane Bryant…

January 25, 2010

I got it at Lane Bryant.

When I can say those few words in response to the question- “cute (fill in the piece of clothing). where did you get it from?”… then I will know I have arrived.  I’m no fatshionista but I do have a few pieces of clothing that are trendy enough for the compliments.  And most of those dresses, jackets, skirts, or blouses come from Lane Bryant.  And each time someone compliments me and asks me where I bought the piece in question, I say Macy’s.  It’s my old standby lie.  I could get caught in my fib at any non-department store so Macy’s always seems like a good choice!

I also HATE going to the mall and walking in or out of Lane Bryant because what if someone actually sees me?!  And the dreaded situation of having to walk out of LB with my new purchases in a bag in hand that clearly identifies where I just came from.

I like to pretend I’m just one of the girls who shops at Banana Republic or Anthropologie or Ann Taylor Loft.  I shop at none of these stores.  I own one blouse from Banana and one blouse from Ann Taylor- both of which I bought at my thinnest (227) and even then, it wasn’t a perfect fit.

I know many women who consider themselves “fat” but they are not relegated to the Lane Bryants of the world.  And although I’m an ardent believer that if a women identifies as “fat”, it is her prerogative to do so and I don’t have the right to keep her out of the fat girls club if she wants in (after all, fat is as much a state of mind as it is numbers on a scale)… I will say this, there is a line in the sand that once crossed, truly identifies you as a fat chick. Actually, there’s probably more than one ‘line in the sand’… but today we discuss clothes.

Clothes and more importantly, clothes shopping is one of the great reminders for me that I am not like most of my “thinner” girlfriends… that I am 100% a fat chick.

  1. I cannot borrow my “thinner” girlfriends’ clothes  (either for fun or for necessity if my luggage gets lost).
  2. I cannot  shop at the same stores with my “thinner” girlfriends… each time I found myself  ‘shopping’ with friends, I try to look busy by helping them shop or heading over to the accessories section.  Thank God accessories are one size fits all!
  3. And for some absurd reason, I still cannot say that I shop at a store where the sizes begin at 14 even when I am ROCKING the outfit.

But if I’m going to become comfortable with who I am, then I cannot be ashamed of who I am or where I shop.  Lane Bryant doesn’t define me and even if it does, it doesn’t define me in a negative way.  So next time someone compliments an outfit and asks where I got it from… guess what I’m gonna say?

Yeah, you guessed it… even if the damn outfit came from Old Navy.  After all, I owe LB years of overdue kudos for making me look good… fat chick or not.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Roberta Heller permalink
    January 26, 2010 7:51 pm

    I’ve also been known to say “oh, my mom got it for me somewhere.”

  2. chickbug permalink
    January 26, 2010 10:14 pm

    I bought a winter coat from Costco. It was $60, Michael Kors and it was so cute I couldn’t resist. And then when people starting asking me where I got it…I totally couldn’t admit I bought clothes at Costco! I was ashamed! After a few weeks of the lies (Lord & Taylor was my go to lie), I decided to just embrace my recession-chic and proudly tell people. And I realized they totally didn’t care. And if they did…well, too bad for them.

  3. January 29, 2010 12:57 am

    I hear ya @roberta heller… I’ve definitely played the “someone else got it for me” card before!

    And I love it @chickbug- “recession chic”… I may have to steal that one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

