Skip to content

Hair Update #1: Let's Do the Twist

January 22, 2010

At the suggestion of KP, I’m going to give a quick update on my hair journey.  For those that don’t know what I’m talking about, check out my previous post.   After 20+ years of applying chemical processes to my hair to “straighten” out my kinky curls, I’m going natural.

The main point of this blog is to chronicle my journey on the road to body acceptance.  While my hair has nothing to do with why I’m fat, there is a correlation between how I view my hair and my body and learning how to accept me for me.  And so, from time to time- I’m going to share with you pictures from my transition to my natural hair (in all it’s kinky glory).

The transition to a full head of natural hair is going to take awhile (possibly up to a year), but while I’m transitioning (which I’ve just started)- I need to find styles that I can do that won’t damage or break my hair… and I think I found one!

After a couple of test runs (that weren’t completely successful), I was finally able to master this style well enough to wear it out in public.  It’s called a twist out.  Below is the abbreviated version of what I did.

After conditioner washing (co-washing) my hair, I put in my styling product and took a small chunk of hair separated it into two strands and twisted them around each other.  After 25 minutes, I was done.  I then put on a satin sleeping cap, went to bed and the next morning after taking out the twists and separating them a bit… voila!

My attempt to show the back

an extreme close up

another extreme close up

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2010 10:56 am

    Hey,
    Email me. You may not get a chance on the Fatosphere, but you’re welcome on the new feed. atchka@hotmail.com

    Peace,
    Shannon

  2. January 22, 2010 3:48 pm

    that style would be adorable with cute bobby pins, very bob with a twist.

    • January 22, 2010 4:10 pm

      oooh amy, I love that idea!!! I’m definitely going to experiment with that. Thanks for the suggestion. 🙂

  3. January 23, 2010 6:56 am

    I had a very long phase of growing out my curly hair with bobbypins, I still kind of miss it, I just look like a cranky schoolmarm when I use them now. I had some with hello kitty and now I mourn her loss…

Leave a Reply

