Skip to content

Gym Phobia???

January 6, 2010

I’m not sure what’s going on with me, but it seems that I’m having some serious aversion to the gym.  Last week (the week b/w Xmas and NYE), I was off from work and had a lovely staycation.  Normally, staycations help me rejuvenate and get my life back on track, which this time was seriously needed and greatly overdue.  I haven’t been “on track” with my weight loss for almost 6 months.  And there have definitely been consequences- nearly 20 pounds of consequences.  Sigh.  But never mind, work had finally slowed down and I took a staycation in order to recharge.

So what did I do on my staycation?  I sat on my butt for the entire week and watched TV… I mean, A LOT of TV.  I actually ran out of TV to watch mid-week and was so desperate that I watched the entire series of ABC Family’s “The Secret Life of the American Teenager” on Demand– which was more than 30 one-hour episodes.   I am a 31 year old woman and I spent 30+ hours watching a teen soap opera… only because I had watched EVERYTHING else that I had any interest in watching.  I watched mindless tv and mindlessly ate and ate and ate.

By the weekend, I was feeling pretty pathetic and was ready to make a change.  I decided to stop the mindless eating and get back to the gym.  Well, 5 days have passed since I made this decision and I have stopped the mindless eating; but I have not been able to get to the gym and I’m starting to think that I’ve got some gym phobia.  But I love the gym or so I thought.

I love to work out.  I love challenging myself and pushing my body to its limits.  I love rocking out to my music as I get out all the bad energy.  The gym has always been the easy part for me.  But has something changed?  Every day (since December 29th), I’ve found one reason or another not to go to the gym.  First, it was my TV coma.  But once the tv coma was over– I really thought my gym routine would effortlessly begin.

So now, I need to figure out why I can’t seem to make the time for something that I have always loved doing.  Is it the New Year Resolution crowds at the gym?  Is it just laziness?  Or maybe it’s more simple than that.  Habits are hard to make and easy to break.  Maybe I thought reincorporating my gym routine would be effortless because it used to be a habit, but now that 6 months of inconsistency has gone by… the habit is broken.

I guess there is nothing “effortless” about losing weight.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2010 8:51 pm

    You are just going to have to bite the bullet and do it. Put down the remote and go to the gym. You know you are going to feel much better after you do it. Just one day…then that will turn into two…and three…then before you know it you are back on track! Go, Go, Go! I’m rooting you on!

  2. January 7, 2010 10:13 am

    If you actually love working out (better you than me)…then maybe you just need to reconfigure how you’re approaching the gym. If you tell yourself “Ok self, this is something I need to do. Stop beings such a lardass. I need this to lose weight” then maybe that makes you more inclined to put it off. But if you tell yourself “Hey self! I really WANT to go to the gym because it’s fun and it makes me feel good! I should make some time for that again!” That might be more effective…and you’re less likely to beat yourself up about it if you skip a few days. I don’t know if that will work…just a suggestion.

    As for me, I have trouble with staying active too. I have yet to find a form of exercise that I actually enjoy on a regular basis. I personally hate gyms.

Leave a Reply

